Awarded by the Society of Typographic Arts, the award recognizes “the 100 best examples of typographic excellence produced each year.”

Faculty member Ian Lynam received the award for his booklet, Visual Strategies for the Apocalypse, which includes work by Lynam and many others, including eight VCFA contributors: faculty members Natalia Ilyin, Nikki Juen, Yoon Soo Lee, Matthew Monk, David Peacock, and Lorena Howard-Sheridan, and alumnx Matthew Scott Barnes (’17) and Michael Scaringe (’15).

Alumnx Heather Snyder Quinn (’18) was awarded for her VCFA thesis work, Transparency: Past/Present/Future.

Alumnx Jimmy Henderson (’19) received the award for The Meads of Poetry, work completed as part of his VCFA thesis.

Ian, Heather, and Jimmy join other recent VCFA winners: faculty members Silas Munro and Lorena Howard-Sheridan, alumnx Jason Alejandro (’16), Chad Miller (’17), and Laura Rossi-Garcia (’16), and former student Luke Dorman.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!