Honorary degrees at VCFA are awarded for the purpose of formally recognizing and honoring living, distinguished artists, arts educators, and patrons of the arts, as well as exemplary service to the college.

Through the awarding of honorary degrees, VCFA seeks to recognize those who have made profound and enduring contributions to the arts, scholarship, and culture, and whose work, character, and contributions to the arts reflect our values as an institution.

Guidelines & Procedures

Learn more about our criteria and guidelines for granting honorary degrees, and view our nomination form.

Our Newest Honoree

Read more about award-winning author and poet Naomi Shihab Nye, the newest recipient of an honorary degree from VCFA.

Honorary Degree Recipients

Cheryl D. Miller Doctor of Humane Letters February 2021
Cornelius “Con” Hogan Doctor of Humane Letters February 2018
Faith Wilding Doctor of Humane Letters July 2018
Louise Harwood Crowley Doctor of Humane Letters July 2016
Katherine Paterson Doctor of Letters January 2015
Jean Valentine Doctor of Letters July 2013
Marion Dane Bauer Honorary MFA in Writing July 2012
Gary Moore Honorary MFA in Writing January 2012