Upcoming Best American Essays 2016 Collection Features Writing Faculty & Alumni

The Best American Essays 2016, edited by Jonathan Franzen, features essays from four faculty members and five alumni of our MFA in Writing program

This annual collection, published by Houghton Mifflin, collects the previous year’s best essays printed through an American publisher. Franzen chose the essays from more than 100 submissions. 

Best American Essays 2016 will be released on Oct. 4, 2016. 

Our faculty members are:

  • Barbara Hurd
  • Patrick Madden
  • Clint McCown
  • Robert Vivian

Alumni are:

  • Laura Michele Diener (’16)
  • Thomas E Kennedy (’85)
  • Melissa Matthewson (’15)
  • Emry McAlear (’15)
  • Alison Townsend (’92)

Read more here.