Tomás Q. Morín is a poetry faculty member in the MFA in Writing program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Rice University. His most recent collection of poetry is Machete (Knopf, 2021), and his memoir Let Me Count the Ways is forthcoming from University of Nebraska Press. Recent reviews have called Morín “a promising and powerful new voice in American poetry” who “wields language like a machete … to slash through ignorance.” Morín’s previous books are Coming Close: Forty Essays on Philip Levine (co-edited with Mari L’Esperance), a translation of Pablo Neruda’s The Heights of Macchu Picchu, and the poetry collections A Larger Country and Patient Zero.

VCFA MFA in Music Composition faculty Jonathan Bailey HollandJonathan Bailey Holland is a founding faculty member in the MFA in Music Composition program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and served as faculty chair from 2016–2019. Currently, Holland is Chair of Composition, Contemporary Music, and Core Studies at Boston Conservatory at Berklee. His compositions have been commissioned and performed by the National Symphony, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, the Detroit Symphony, the Chicago Sinfonietta and the Chicago Architectural Foundation, the Dallas Symphony and the Dallas Black Dance Theater, the Radius Ensemble, the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble, and many more.

Guggenheim Fellowships are awarded each year to artists and scholars in a wide range of fields, all united by an auspicious record of “prior achievement and exceptional promise.” Previous recipients include Thelonious Monk, Zora Neale Hurston, Ansel Adams, Cindy Sherman, Martha Graham, James Baldwin, and Linus Pauling, among many others.

Read the foundation’s press release and the full list of 2022 recipients on the Guggenheim Foundation’s website.