Varian Johnson is the author of six novels, including the Jackson Greene middle-grade series.

The first novel in the series, The Great Greene Heist, was an ALA Notable Children’s Book Selection, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year, and has been named to over twenty-five state reading and best-of lists. His books for older readers include My Life as a Rhombus and Saving Maddie, a Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Book. Varian has also written for the Spirit Animals middle-grade fantasy series as well as short stories for the middle grade and YA audiences.

His newest stand-alone novel, The Parker Inheritance, is forthcoming in Spring 2018. Varian was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina, and attended the University of Oklahoma, where he received a BS in Civil Engineering. He later attended the Vermont College of Fine Arts, where he received an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Varian now lives outside of Austin, TX with his family.



BS - Civil Engineering | University of Oklahoma

Selected work

Anna-Marie McLemore

Faculty, MFA in WCYA

Sheela Chari

Faculty, MFA in WCYA

Corey Ann Haydu

Faculty, MFA in WCYA

Alan Cumyn

Faculty, MFA in WCYA

A.S. King

Faculty, MFA in WCYA; Writing Novels for Young People Retreat

William Alexander

Faculty Chair, MFA in WCYA