Annie J. Howell is a screenwriter and director.

Her first film, co-written and co-directed with Lisa Robinson, was SMALL, BEAUTIFULLY MOVING PARTS (starring Anna Margaret Hollyman), which premiered at SXSW in 2011 and went on to play over 30 festivals, including the Hamptons, Mill Valley, Denver, and RiverRun. The film received the Sloan Feature Film Prize, presented at the Hamptons, and the Audience Award at RiverRun, and went on to play in art house theaters across the nation to positive reviews from Variety, Huffington Post, and NPR.

Her second feature with Robinson, CLAIRE IN MOTION (starring Betsy Brandt), premiered at SXSW 2016 in competition and went on to play festivals such as Nantucket and Seattle. It sold to Breaking Glass Pictures and played theatrically in ten cities and is now available to stream. LITTLE BOXES, which she wrote (directed by Rob Meyer and starring Melanie Lynskey and Nelsan Ellis) also premiered in 2016 at the Tribeca Film Festival, where it sold to Netflix. That script is the recipient of an IFP Emerging Narrative Award for Best Feature and a San Francisco Film Society/Kenneth Rainin Foundation grant. The film premiered theatrically in April 2017.

Other credits include a short for the vanguard ITVS series FutureStates as well as the web series SPARKS, also created with Robinson and licensed to the Sundance Channel’s site “Sunfiltered.” Howell is an alumna of Whitman College, NYU’s Graduate Film program, the Screenwriters Colony, and IFP’s Emerging Narrative. She teaches in the MFA in Film program at City College, and has also been a member of the faculty at Duke University’s Center for Documentary Studies, Ohio University’s MFA in Film, and at The New School, where she was the Founding Director of the Graduate Certificate in Documentary Media Studies Program. She lives in New York with her husband and two sons.

Selected work

Michel Negroponte

Faculty, MFA in Film

Laura Colella

Faculty Chair, MFA in Film

Mike Day

Faculty, MFA in Film

Nina Davenport

Faculty, MFA in Film

Terence Nance

Faculty, MFA in Film

Marya Cohn

Faculty, MFA in Film