Vermont Book Award

“There is no better way to honor Vermont’s extensive literary culture than the Vermont Book Award. Vermont College of Fine Arts has figured out a way to gather all of Vermont’s writers and readers as one family, and it doesn’t matter that at its core it’s a competition—it feels entirely like a celebration.” Kerrin McCadden, winner of the inaugural Vermont Book Award

The Vermont Book Award is a $5,000 literary prize created by VCFA to celebrate the literature of Vermont. To qualify, a book must be a work of outstanding literary merit by a Vermont writer.

A committee of independent booksellers of Vermont lends its expertise to nominate worthy books in four categories: Children’s Literature, Creative Nonfiction, Fiction, and Poetry. Publishers may also submit nominations.

In early summer, a group of distinguished judges chooses finalists in each of the genres. The winner is selected from these finalists and announced at the Vermont Book Award Gala in the autumn.


Miciah Bay Gault
Program Director, MFA in Writing & Publishing
Editor, Hunger Mountain

Nominating Committee of Independent Booksellers of Vermont

Bear Pond Books
Claire Benedict, Vermont Book Award Nominating Committee Chair
77 Main St.
Montpelier, VT 05602

Next Chapter Bookstore
Cynthia Duprey
158 North Main St.
Barre, VT 05641

Village Square Booksellers
Alan and Pat Fowler
32 The Square
Bellows Falls, VT 05101

The Bennington Bookshop
Linda Foulsham and Phil Lewis
467 Main Street
Bennington, VT 05201

Phoenix Books
Tod Gross, Manager
191 Bank Street
Burlington, VT 05401

21 Essex Way
Essex, VT 05452

Galaxy Bookshop
Andrea Jones and Sandy Scott
41 South Main St.
Hardwick, VT 05843

Ebenezer Books
Jennifer (JJ) Indeliclae
2 Lower Main St.
Johnson, VT 05656
Connect with them on Facebook here!

Northshire Books
Debbi Wraga
4869 Main Street
Manchester, VT 05255

The Vermont Book Shop
Becky Dayton
38 Main St.
Middlebury, VT 05753

Norwich Bookstore
Liza Bernard
291 Main St.
Norwich, VT 05055

The Flying Pig Bookstore
Elizabeth Bluemle and Josie Leavitt
5247 Shelburne Road, Suite 102
Shelburne, VT 05482

Bridgeside Books
Hiata DeFeo
29 Stowe St.
Waterbury, VT 05676

Bartleby’s Books and Music
Lisa Sullivan
17 West Main St.
Wilmington, VT 05363