

Vermont College of Fine Arts

# VINTER 2024 COMMENCEMENT

SATURDAY, JANUARY 13, 2024 Selinsgrove, PA



Welcome to our Winter 2024 Commencement.

We are a global community of artists continuously redefining what it means to be an arts college. We measure success by our ability to foster the excellence of emerging and established practitioners.

We believe that the arts are central to the human experience and have the ability not only to reflect reality but also to create it.

At VCFA, we are committed to working in partnership with all members of our college and the external community to build and sustain a welcoming and inclusive environment.

We recognize, honor, and support diversity and equity in every context. As an institution, we actively focus our resources on outreach, expansion, and inclusion. As a community, we are fully committed to fostering the artistic, intellectual, individual, and social identities, contributions, and development of every one of our members.

# order of events

### **Processional**

Marcos Krieger, D.M.A., *University Organist and Professor of Music, Susquehanna University* 

Gonfalonieres: Members of the VCFA Community

### **Land Acknowledgement**

Katie Rasmussen, Interim Dean of Administration, VCFA

### **Welcome Remarks**

Andrew Ramsammy, Interim President, VCFA

### **Commencement Address**

Laurie Carter (W '10), Dean of the School of the Arts and School of Humanities, Susquehanna University

### **Conferring of the Graduate Degrees**

Andrew Ramsammy, *Interim President* Mary-Kim Arnold (W '16), *Interim Academic Dean* 

### **Closing Remarks**

Mary-Kim Arnold (W '16), Interim Academic Dean

### Recessional

Marcos Krieger, D.M.A.



### **MFA IN FILM**

Joseph Daniel Anson
Uddip Joor Baruah
Summer Brooke Gómez
Michael-John Ilasi
Emilie Blythe McDonald
Rhonda Mitrani Buchman
Debra White-Stanley

### MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

Jonathan H. Bybee
Leah Chutz
Jennifer Kapitulik
Christopher M. Lange
Janelle L. Paisley
Jonathan Ted Whisenhunt
Jonathan Wretlind

### MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Lloyd M. Dugger III Henry McNulty

### MFA IN VISUAL ART

Sarah Edna Johnson-Brown Alyssa Karis Jessie Keating Patricia L. Meriam Shannon Cleere Adria Zal Jamie Zimchek

### **MFA IN WRITING**

Isa Adnev

Rhonda Britten
Jacqui Castle
Lisa Crowe
Jen Graney
Wayne Lockwood
Jake Lyon
Tara McCann
Claire Muraoka
Eleonora Natilii
Vanessa Remmers
Gail Ann Schulte

# MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Norma Adriana Balli-Borrero Nadine Charon Ballot Sara A. Bates Rebecca Lee Blevins Vijayalakshmi K. Chary Elizabeth Anne Curry Lori Michelle Daugherty Christine Hartman Derr Elizabeth Donnelly Monique Duncan Marie Kathleen Iding Ashley Edward Jakubczyk Eileen Janae Lamb Andrea Levinger Margaret Harriet Mason Andrea "Drea" Mayer Jorieana Mosness Stacy K. Nockowitz Sarah O'Holla Christine Lynn Pakkala Karis Elizabeth Rogerson Erin Madigan White





### **MFA IN FILM**

Marya Cohn, chair

Brooke Berman
Joan Darling
Damon Davis
Jessica Gorter
Daphne McWilliams
Dominga Sotomayor
Emilie Upczak

# MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

James Chae, co-chair Silas Munro, co-chair

Tasheka Arceneaux-Sutton Lorena Howard-Sheridan Natalia Ilyin Yoon Soo Lee Ian Lynam Matthew Monk Ziddi Msangi Dave Peacock Sereina Rothenberger David Schatz Ramón Tejada

# MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Anne West

Carla Kihlstedt, *co-chair* Roger Zahab, *co-chair* 

Rick Baitz
Trudy Chan
Don DiNicola
Mike Early
Rob Frankenberry
Andy Jaffe
Ravi Krishnaswami
John Mallia

Lisa Mezzacappa Frank J. Oteri John Fitz Rogers

### MFA IN VISUAL ART

Eshrat Erfanian, co-chair Mario Ontiveros, co-chair

Luis Jacob Michael Minelli Humberto Ramirez Marie Shurkus

### **MFA IN WRITING**

Sue William Silverman, co-chair Adam McOmber, co-chair

Geoff Bouvier Michael Croley Caleb Curtiss Melissa Faliveno Fernando A. Flores Connie May Fowler Miciah Bay Gault Chachi Hauser Barbara Hurd Negesti Kaudo Richard Jackson T. Geronimo Johnson Samuel Kóláwolé Ellen Lesser **Brian Leung Bret Lott** Robin MacArthur Patrick Madden Clint McCown Philip Metres Tomás Q. Morín Wanjikū Wa Nugūgī Elena Passarello Natasha Sajé Betsy Sholl

SJ Sindu

Hasanthika Sirisena Clifford Thompson Leslie Ullman Nance Van Winckel David Wojahn

# MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Linda Urban. chair Will Alexander An Na Kathi Appelt Tom Birdseye Sheela Chari Melanie Crowder Evan Griffith Louise Hawes Corey Ann Haydu Veera Hiranandani K.A. Holt Varian Johnson Jane Kurtz Martine Leavitt Kekla Magoon Cory McCarthy Anna-Marie McLemore Emily X.R. Pan Erica Perl Matt Phelan Mary Quattlebaum Anica Mrose Rissi Sara Ryan Alex Sanchez Liz Garton Scanlon Laura Shovan

Cynthia Leitich Smith

Jasmine Warga

Jennifer Ziegler



### **ADMINISTRATION**

Andrew Ramsammy, Interim President

Mary-Kim Arnold (W '16), *Interim Academic Dean*Katie Gustafson, *VP for Finance & Administration*Jericho Parms (W '12), *VP for Institutional Advancement*Katie Rasmussen, *Interim Dean of Administration* 

### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Michael Goldstein, *Chair* Catherine Carvelli, *Vice Chair* 

Joan Grubin

Michael Hogan

Kate Hosford

**Barry Johnson** 

**Casper Martin** 

Katherine Paterson

Michael Rosenfeld

Heidi Mohlman Tringe

Jeff Wiggins

We extend our heartfelt appreciation to all the staff of VCFA whose contributions to the programs are immeasurable.

