The four annual prizes at Hunger Mountain usually close for entries on March 1. This year, however, Hunger Mountain is extending the deadline by one week after announcing the 2017 judges

Entries for the Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize, the Ruth Stone Poetry Prize, the Katherine Paterson Prize for YA and Children’s Writing, and the Hunger Mountain Creative Nonfiction Prize should be received by March 8, 2017 to be considered for this year’s contests.

This year’s fiction judge is novelist, short story writer, and Young Lions award finalist Matt Bell. The Hunger Mountain Creative Nonfiction Prize will be judged by essayist Joni Tevis, author of The Wet Collection and The World Is on Fire. Major Jackson, author of four volumes of poetry, winner of the 2016 Vermont Book Award for Roll Deep, and finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry, will judge the Ruth Stone Poetry Prize. The Katherine Paterson Prize will be judged by Cynthia Leitich Smith, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Feral and Tantalize series, and many other books for young adults and young children. 

The winner of each prize receives $1000 and publication. Runners-up receive $100 and publication. 

The prize is open to all writers. There’s a $20 fee to enter. Visit for guidelines and links to enter. 

Bell Tevis
Jackson Smith

Clockwise from the top: Matt Bell, Joni Tevis, Cynthia Leitich Smith, and Major Jackson