David Jauss, fiction writer and poet, is the author of four collections of short stories, two collections of poems, a collection of essays, and a monograph on closure in literature and the arts.

  • Short stories: Nice People: New & Selected Stories II (Press 53, 2017), Glossolalia: New & Selected Stories (Press 53, 2013), Black Maps (Univ. of Mass. Press, 1996; Dzanc Books, 2013), winner of the AWP Award in Short Fiction, and Crimes of Passion (Story Press, 1985; Dzanc Books, 2014)
  • Poetry collections: You Are Not Here (Fleur-de-Lis Press, 2002), winner of the Fleur-de-Lis Poetry Prize, and Improvising Rivers (Cleveland State Univ. Press, 1995), runner-up for the Cleveland State Univ. Press Poetry Prize
  • Essay collections: Alone With All That Could Happen: Rethinking Conventional Wisdom on the Craft of Fiction (Writer’s Digest Books, 2008; reprinted in paperback as On Writing Fiction in 2011)
  • Monograph: “A Crack in Everything”: How We Know What’s Done Is Done (Haystack Mountain, 2009)

David has also edited Words Overflown by Stars (Writer’s Digest Books, 2009), a collection of essays on the craft of poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction by VCFA’s MFA in Writing faculty, and The Best of Crazyhorse (Univ. of Arkansas Press, 1990), a collection of poems and stories from the first three decades of that highly regarded literary journal. With Philip Dacey, he co-edited Strong Measures: Contemporary American Poetry in Traditional Forms (Harper & Row, 1986; Longman, 2004).

His short stories and poems have been included in numerous journals and reprinted in the Best American Short Stories, O. Henry Prize, and Pushcart Prize annual anthologies, as well as in The Pushcart Book of Short Stories: The Best of the Pushcart Prize, and The Poetry Anthology, 1912-2002: Ninety Years of America’s Most Distinguished Verse Magazine. His essays on the craft of fiction have appeared regularly in The Writer’s Chronicle. His comprehensive essay on the history of the case of the West Memphis Three in included in the e-book edition of Damien Echols’s best-selling memoir Life After Death (Blue Rider Press, 2012).

David is the recipient of the AWP Award for Short Fiction, the Fleur-de-Lis Poetry Prize, an O. Henry Prize, two Pushcart Prizes, a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, a James A. Michener/Copernicus Society of America fellowship, and three fellowships from the Arkansas Arts Council and one from the Minnesota Arts Board.


PhD - English & Creative Writing | University of Iowa

MA - Creative Writing | Syracuse University

BA - Literature & Creative Writing | Southwest Minnesota State University

Connie May Fowler

Faculty Chair, MFA in Writing [fiction/CNF]; Director, Novel Retreat

Harrison Candelaria Fletcher

Faculty, MFA in Writing [CNF]

Sue William Silverman

Faculty, MFA in Writing [CNF]; Postgraduate Writers' Conference

Michael Croley

Faculty, MFA in Writing [fiction]

Elena Passarello

Faculty, MFA in Writing [CNF]

Samuel Kọ́láwọlé

Faculty, MFA in Writing [fiction]