

WEDNESDAY, JULY 2, 2025 Valencia, CA



Welcome to our Summer 2025 Commencement.

We are a global community of artists continuously redefining what it means to be an arts college. We measure success by our ability to foster the excellence of emerging and established practitioners.

We believe that the arts are central to the human experience and have the ability not only to reflect reality but also to create it.

At VCFA, we are committed to working in partnership with all members of our college and the external community to build and sustain a welcoming and inclusive environment.

We recognize, honor, and support diversity and equity in every context. As an institution, we actively focus our resources on outreach, expansion, and inclusion. As a community, we are fully committed to fostering the artistic, intellectual, individual, and social identities, contributions, and development of every one of our members.

Processional Gonfalonieres: Members of the VCFA Community

Land Acknowledgement Katie Rasmussen, Dean of Students

Welcome Remarks Linda Urban, Interim Dean of Faculty & Academic Affairs

Conferring of the Graduate Degrees Andrew Ramsammy, President, VCFA Linda Urban

Closing Remarks Andrew Ramsammy

Recessional

MFA IN FILM

Andrew Alden Nathan Ashton Mason Bendewald Cole Frederick Sharice Lamb Christina Paschyn Adam Targum

MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

Shannon Doronio Chavez Rian Kasner Lana Lambert

MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Colin Hinton Alex Kirkpatrick Pamela Martinez Stephen Owens Ethan Sudan

MFA IN VISUAL ART

August X. Moon Lauren Poretsky Rachel Tirosh Carla Elana Wojczuk

MFA IN WRITING

Christine Allen Daniella Diaz Amy Estes Will Gordon Wyvern Una Holland Melissa LaCross Kelley Lee Gregory Moss Adiba Nelson Miah O'Malley Shawn Reilly Cevia Yellin Dr. LiAnne Sandra Yu

MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Keliko Adams Anastasia Ehling Sarah Evans-Price Madison Kirkbride Janet Krauthamer Grace Safford Wendy Waltrip Katherine Wiles

MFA IN FILM

Marya Cohn, chair

Damon Davis Annie J. Howell Daphne McWilliams Emilie Upczak

MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

James Chae, chair

Tasheka Arceneaux-Sutton Amy Fortunato Lorena Howard-Sheridan Natalia Ilyin Yoon Soo Lee Matthew Monk Ziddi Msangi Silas Munro Dave Peacock Sereina Rothenberger David Schatz Ramón Tejada Heather Snyder Quinn David Jon Walker Anne West

MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Carla Kihlstedt, *co-chair* Roger Zahab, *co-chair*

Rick Baitz Trudy Chan Don DiNicola Mike Early Rob Frankenberry Andy Jaffe Ravi Krishnaswami John Mallia Lisa Mezzacappa Frank J. Oteri John Fitz Rogers

MFA IN VISUAL ART

Humberto Ramirez, chair

Mario Ontiveros Michael Minelli Marie Shurkus

MFA IN WRITING

Adam McOmber, *co-chair* Sue William Silverman, *co-chair*

edwin bodnev C.L. Clark Michael Croley Caleb Curtiss Tarfia Faizullah Melissa Faliveno Harrison Candelaria Fletcher Miciah Bay Gault Chachi Hauser Barbara Hurd **Richard Jackson** Negesti Kaudo Samuel Kóláwolé Ellen Lesser Brian Leung Bret Lott Robin MacArthur Patrick Madden Clint McCown **Philip Metres**



faculty

MFA in Writing, continued

Wanjikū wa Ngūgī Natasha Sajé Betsy Sholl Hasanthika Sirisena Clifford Thompson Leslie Ullman Nance Van Winckel David Wojahn

MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Linda Urban, chair

Will Alexander An Na Kathi Appelt Tom Birdseye Loree Grffin Burns Sheela Chari Melanie Crowder Evan Griffith Louise Hawes Corey Ann Haydu Veera Hiranandani K.A. Holt Varian Johnson Jane Kurtz Martine Leavitt Kekla Magoon Cory McCarthy Anna-Marie McLemore Erica S. Perl Matt Phelan Mary Quattlebaum Anica Mrose Rissi Sara Ryan Alex Sanchez Liz Garton Scanlon Laura Shovan Cynthia Leitich Smith Nova Ren Suma Jennifer Ziegler

ADMINISTRATION

Andrew Ramsammy, President

Lori Husein, Chief Financial Officer J. Scott Price (W'19), Chief of Staff Katie Rasmussen, Dean of Students Linda Urban, Interim Dean of Faculty & Academic Affairs Katrine Trantham, Executive Director of Enrollment Management

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Heidi Mohlman Tringe, *Chair* Chebon Marshall, *Vice Chair*

Melissa Cobb Joan Grubin Steven Holley Katherine Hosford Barry Johnson Alexandra Moore Tina Perry Ravi Rajan, *ex Officio* Andrew Ramsammy, *ex Officio* Mark Swicegood Jeffery Wiggins

> We extend our heartfelt appreciation to all the staff of VCFA whose contributions to the programs are immeasurable.

