

Vermont College of Fine Arts

WINTER 2025 COMMENCEMENT

SATURDAY, JANUARY 11, 2025 Valencia, CA



Welcome to our Winter 2025 Commencement.

We are a global community of artists continuously redefining what it means to be an arts college. We measure success by our ability to foster the excellence of emerging and established practitioners.

We believe that the arts are central to the human experience and have the ability not only to reflect reality but also to create it.

At VCFA, we are committed to working in partnership with all members of our college and the external community to build and sustain a welcoming and inclusive environment.

We recognize, honor, and support diversity and equity in every context. As an institution, we actively focus our resources on outreach, expansion, and inclusion. As a community, we are fully committed to fostering the artistic, intellectual, individual, and social identities, contributions, and development of every one of our members.



Processional Gonfalonieres: *Members of the VCFA Community*

Land Acknowledgement Katie Rasmussen, *Dean of Students*

Welcome Remarks Andrew Ramsammy, *President, VCFA*

Conferring of the Graduate Degrees Andrew Ramsammy Mary-Kim Arnold, *Dean of the Faculty & Academic Affairs*

Closing Remarks Mary-Kim Arnold

Recessional





MFA IN FILM

Erica Nichol Jacobs-Ware Jeremy Carmen Rayburn Daniela "Ellori" Mae Smith Alexander Turner

MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

Jewell Melisa Traifalgar Morton Andru Lance Poole Jeremy Neal Rosen

MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Joshua D. Alexander Jennifer St. Clair Smith Ethan Sudan

MFA IN VISUAL ART

Marian I. S. Lyndgaard Susan Mowery Snipes

MFA IN WRITING

Jesse Albatrosova Sasha Ann Bailyn Elizabeth Drewry Beck Kwame Sound Daniels Degan Davis Fallon Goodman Brié Goumaz Marc Merrill Gumbin Melissa Rene' Hazlitt Jamie Li Lynette Sifiso Maposa Lise Claiborne Matthews Natalie Leta McKay Nicole Lauren Mills Victoria Halley Osland Todd E. Poremba Timothy Ryan Provenzano Jayda Elizabeth Harrison Skidmore Susan B. Squires Catherine Witzling

MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Elizabeth M Achten Saragail Benjamin Nina Elizabeth Brigman Erika Carlson Victoria Chester Maya Bonafede Chhabra Melanie Gail Demiral Aimee DiPasqua Amanda Catherine Ebner Daniel Fliederbaum Tracy Lynn Hill Lisa Hock Mark Holtzen **Emily Holyoak** Alexis Marie Keeler Tricia Levenseller Marielle Martin Rieko Okawa Mendez Stuart Neal Crystal Schreck Jill Stuck

faculty

MFA IN FILM

Marya Cohn, *chair* Damon Davis Annie J. Howell Daphne McWilliams Emilie Upczak

MFA IN GRAPHIC DESIGN

James Chae, chair

Tasheka Arceneaux-Sutton Amy Fortunato Lorena Howard-Sheridan Natalia Ilyin Yoon Soo Lee Matthew Monk Ziddi Msangi Silas Munro Dave Peacock Sereina Rothenberger David Schatz Ramón Tejada Heather Snyder Quinn David Jon Walker Anne West

MFA IN MUSIC COMPOSITION

Carla Kihlstedt, *co-chair* Roger Zahab, *co-chair*

Rick Baitz Trudy Chan Don DiNicola Mike Early Rob Frankenberry Andy Jaffe Ravi Krishnaswami John Mallia Lisa Mezzacappa Frank J. Oteri John Fitz Rogers

MFA IN VISUAL ART

Eshrat Erfanian, *co-chair* Mario Ontiveros, *co-chair*

Michael Minelli Humberto Ramirez Marie Shurkus

MFA IN WRITING

Adam McOmber, *co-chair* Sue William Silverman, *co-chair*

Michael Croley Caleb Curtiss Tarfia Faizullah Melissa Faliveno Harrison Candelaria Fletcher Fernando A. Flores **Connie May Fowler** Miciah Bay Gault Chachi Hauser Barbara Hurd **Richard Jackson** T. Geronimo Johnson Negesti Kaudo Samuel Kóláwolé Ellen Lesser Brian Leung Bret Lott Robin MacArthur Patrick Madden Clint McCown Philip Metres Tomás Q. Morín Wanjikū Wa Ngūgī Elena Passarello Natasha Sajé **Betsy Sholl**

Hasanthika Sirisena Clifford Thompson Leslie Ullman Nance Van Winckel David Wojahn

MFA IN WRITING FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS

Linda Urban. chair Will Alexander An Na Kathi Appelt Tom Birdseve Sheela Chari Melanie Crowder Evan Griffith Louise Hawes Corey Ann Haydu Veera Hiranandani K.A. Holt Varian Johnson Jane Kurtz Martine Leavitt Kekla Magoon Cory McCarthy Anna-Marie McLemore Emily X.R. Pan Erica Perl Matt Phelan Mary Quattlebaum Anica Mrose Rissi Sara Ryan Alex Sanchez Liz Garton Scanlon Laura Shovan Cynthia Leitich Smith Jasmine Warga Jennifer Ziegler



ADMINISTRATION

Andrew Ramsammy, *President* Mary-Kim Arnold (W '16), *Dean of the Faculty & Academic Affairs* J. Scott Price (W'19), *Chief of Staff* Katie Rasmussen, *Dean of Students* Katrine Trantham, *Executive Director of Enrollment Management*

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Michael Goldstein, *Chair* Chebon Marshall, *Vice Chair*

Melissa Cobb Paul Cronson Joan Grubin Steven Holley Kate Hosford Barry Johnson Alexandra Moore Tina Perry Ravi Rajan Mark Swicegood Heidi Mohlman Tringe Jeff Wiggins

