Guidelines and Eligibility

Nominations for the 2017 Vermont Book Award are now closed.

To be eligible for the 2017 prize, a book must have a publication date between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016 and must be penned by a Vermont writer or by a writer with deep ties to the state of Vermont. For instance, a writer might have been born and raised in the state of Vermont, but isn't currently living there. A writer might have family ties in Vermont and have spent significant time in the state as a child or adult. The setting of the nominated book might reflect these ties.

Books by VCFA staff, trustees, or current students are not eligible. Self-published books are not eligible.

Who nominates the books?

A special nominating committee, made up of the Independent Booksellers of Vermont, and chaired by Claire Benedict of Bear Pond Books in Montpelier. Publishers may also nominate books.

When is the nomination deadline?

March 1, 2017.

Who chooses the finalists? And the winner?

A panel of eight esteemed judges will first announce a shortlist of finalists in each category. The judges will then decide on one winner. The winning book may be in any category.

Finalists will be announced next summer, and the winner will be revealed at an awards ceremony at VCFA in fall 2017, where he or she will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

How can I get involved?

If you know of a book that should be nominated, please contact your local bookstore. Remember all nominations must be received by March 1, 2017. See list of participating booksellers in the sidebar.


Miciah Bay Gault
Program Director, MFA in Writing & Publishing
Editor, Hunger Mountain